2013 News‎ > ‎

Quackers 2013 Champs!

posted Aug 20, 2013, 6:07 PM by Washburn Wiffle

The 2013 Champion Oatka Quackers
(from L to R: Cody Hammond, Darren McGuire, Jordan Shelton, and Regis Pollard)

The Oatka Quackers were named the 2013 WWL champions after the closest series the league has ever seen.  Game One featured a battle between the two aces as the Quackers Regis Pollard went up against the Workhorses Mike Anderson.  The Quackers would manage just two runs, but that proved to be the difference as the Workhorses were blanked, falling 2-0.  Anderson scattered just 7 hits in the complete-game loss, while striking out 7.  Pollard pitched out of two bases-loaded jams and allowed just 4 hits, with a record-tying 17 strike outs. Pollard finished 4-5 at the plate, while teammates Jordan Shelton and Cody Hammond each had a double.

In Game Two, Darren McGuire got the start for the Quackers as he went up against the Workhorses lefty, Sean Ancker.  The Workhorses jumped out to a 4-3 lead after the first, but both teams opted to replace their pitchers after just an inning.  Both Pollard and Anderson would return to the mound for the two teams as the offensive production slowed.  The Quackers managed 5 more runs over the course of the next 5 innings as they would comeback to win 9-5 to be crowned the WWL World Series Champions.  Jordan Shelton led the offense going 5-6 with 5 RBI, while Cody Hammond added 2 doubles at the plate.

This is the Oatka Quackers second consecutive World-Series win. Pollard was named the MVP of the World Series.